Mangalore: Many candidates likely to file nominations today

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Karnataka - Elections

Mangalore: Cong yet to announce candidates for Puttur, Kaup; BJP aspirants await at Belthangady, Moodbidre

The auspicious Monday has prompted several candidates from various political parties to file their nominations for the assembly polls. As a result, most of the candidates from both national parties as well as other regional parties will be filing their nominations on Monday.

Sources in the BJP said that all those candidates whose names have been announced in the first list will file their nominations on Monday. They are Yogish Bhat (Mangalore South), Krishna Palemar (Mangalore North), Chandrahas Ullal (Mangalore), Angara (Sullia), Sanjeeva Matandoor (Puttur) and Rajesh Nayak (Bantwal). The BJP is yet to announce the names for Moodbidri and Belthangady constituencies.

Congress candidates J R Lobo (Mangalore South) and K Vasanth Bangera (Belthangady) will file their nominations. At the same time, SDPI candidates Ismail Engineer from Moodbidri and Koosappa from Sullia will be filing their nominations on Monday. Similarly, a few independent candidates, candidates from JD(S) will also file their nominations on Monday.

In Udupi, prominent persons who are likely to file nominations on Monday include Pramod Madhwaraj (Cong), Sudhakar Shetty (BJP) for Udupi Assembly constituency; Lalji R Mendon (BJP) for Kaup; Malyadi Shivaram Shetty (Cong) for Kundapur; V Sunil Kumar (BJP) for Karkala. Gopal Poojary (Cong) and K Shankar from CPI(M) from Baindoor assembly constituency. Sudhakar Shetty will take out a procession from Udupi Assembly constituency office to the taluk office. The procession will pass through City bus stand, Kalsanka, Badagupete, SMSP complex, Chittaranjan circle, Diana circle, Kavi Muddanna road before culminating at taluk office.

Pramodh Madhwaraj will visit church, mosque and temple before filing the nomination papers.

Though the process of filing nomination started on April 10, none of the candidates had filed on the first day of the election process, thanks to the “amavasya.”

Being ‘Ugadi’ (New Year), nomination papers were not accepted on April 11 due to holiday. On April 12, as many as eight nomination papers were filed by seven candidates in DK. On April 13, a total of four nominations were filed at DK and Udupi.

April 17 is the last day for filing of nominations. April 20 is the last day for withdrawal of nomination papers.

Candidates await

With the announcement of Moideen Bava’s (Cong) name for Mangalore North constituency, the aspiring candidates from Congress in Puttur (DK) and Kaup (Udupi) continue to wait for green signal.

On the other hand, the BJP is yet to announce candidates for Belthangady and Moodbidre (both in DK).

Write A Comment