The district-level badminton tournament inaugurated by J R Lobo

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Mangalore, Sep 17: The district-level badminton tournament in primary and high school sections for boys and girls was inaugurated by MLA J R Lobo at Government High School, Nalyapadav, Shaktinagar here on Tuesday September 16.

The tournament was organized by public education department, zilla panchayat in collaboration with zonal education office, Mangalore south zone.

The tournament was symbolically inaugurated by releasing a pigeon and a balloon into the air.

Speaking after the inauguration, MLA J R Lobo lauded the organizers of the tournament and said participation is most important in sports. He asked the participants to play well with a sportive spirit.


Corporator Akhila Alva, presiding over the inaugural function said, “Students participating in the sports should take defeat and victory in equal measures. By excelling in sports one can make the nation proud and it also helps in the all-round development of an individual.”

Purushottam Bhat M, president of the school development management committee welcomed the gathering,  Shivaram Acharya compered while school headmistress Vijay Kumari delivered the vote of thanks.

Corporator Mahabala Marla, N S Angadi, taluk physical observer, Gopal Shenoy, T K Sudheer, Ramesh Nayak, Joseph, president of district physical teachers association, Silvia Castelino, Vijay Shenoy, Dolphy Mascarenhas, Udayi Kumari, Ganesh Kuntalpady, Chandrahaas among others were present.

Prior to the inaugural ceremony, MLA J R Lobo laid the foundation stone for the school building to be built under Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abiyana (RMSA). Under this scheme a library, laboratory and a classroom will be built.

The badminton tournament was held in two categories, that is under-14 and under-17 for boys and girls. As many as 7 teams of boys and 7 teams of girls participated in under-14 category. In the under-17 category too, 7 boys’ teams and 7 girls’ teams participated.

Boys below 17: Belthangady Taluk (Winners); Mangalore South (Runners Up)

Girls below 17: Sullia Taluk (Winners); Bantwal Taluk (Runners Up)

Boys below 14: Mangalore North (Winners); Bantwal Taluk (Runners Up)

Girls below 14: Bantwal Taluk (Winners); Mangalore North (Runners Up)

Write A Comment