Udupi: Dr Mohan Alava has been selected for the prestigious Dr. Kota Shivaram Karanth Huttura Prashasti.

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Udupi; Sept 17: Addressing the media reporters in the press meet held on Sept 17, Tuesday Ananda C Kundar, executive president of Prashasthi Prathistana informed in his address that Dr Mohan Alva, president, Alva’s Education Foundation, Moodbidri, has been selected for the first time for the Dr. Kota Shivaram Karanth Huttura Prashasti in recognition of his contribution in the fields of education and culture.

This award instituted in memory of Jnanpith award winner late Dr Karanth by Kotathattu Gram Panchayat in Udupi is being given annually since 2005.

The award giving ceremony will be held at Shambahavi School in Kota on October 10 afternoon, happened to be the birth anniversary of late Karanth.

A 10-day programme will be held as part of Karanth’s birth anniversary at Kota from October 1

to 10.

On October 1, district level children’s Sahitya sammelan will be inaugurated by Smt Umashree, minister for Kannada and culture. During the occasion Halady Shreenivas Shetty, MLA will unveil Karanth theme park website. On October 2, Kimmane Ratnakar, education minister will inaugurate women’s capabilities enhancement training workshop and on October 3, Udupi zilla Shikshaka Sahitya Sammelan.

On October 4th, writing names of Dr Karanth’s books competition, Drawings competition, Anganawadi children’s talents exhibition, on October 5th high school student’s talents exhibition will be held.

From October 6th to 10 children’s personality development camp and from October 7th onwards in the evening from 6.00 pm onwards books exhibition, drawings exhibition, Karanth’s Drishya Kavya exhibition and cultural variety programme will be held.

On October 10, for the benefits of the gram panchayat members under the guidance of Wilfred D’souza and Janardhan Maravanthe training workshop will be conducted.

Smt Shobha,President,Kotathattu gram Panchayat, Neelavara Surendra Adiga,Karnataka zilla president,Jayarama Shetty,Panchayat development officer,Vittala Gaonkar were present.

Write A Comment