Two MLAs take oath in Marathi in Karnataka assembly

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


BANGALORE: Wearing traditional Maharashtrian headgear, two members took oath in Marathi as maiden session of the 14th Karnataka legislative assembly commenced on Wednesday.

Sporting saffron-coloured “pagadi”, Arvind Chandrakant Patil (Khanapur) and Sambhaji Laxman Patil (Belgaum Dakshin), belonging to Maharashtra Ekikaran Samiti (MES) and elected from Belgaum district bordering Maharashtra, were among the 146 newly elected members who were sworn in on the first day.

First two days of the session which would conclude on June seven were earmarked for oath-taking exercise. Protem Speaker Malikayya Guttedar was in the Chair. Senior member Kagodu Thimmappa (Congress) is slated to be elected as Speaker on Friday.

The Congress has 121 members in the 224-member House, with the BJP and JDS having 40 MLAs each. JDS has been recognized as the principal opposition, having recorded higher vote-share in the May five assembly polls.

JDS state unit president H D Kumaraswamy, who was elected from Ramanagara assembly segment and recently resigned as Lok Sabha member, is all set to become Leader of Opposition. The House has 56 first-time MLAs.

Amidst scenes of bonhomie, chief minister Siddaramaiah was first to take oath, followed by his ministerial colleagues.

Former chief ministers Jagadish Shettar (BJP) and B S Yeddyurappa (Karnataka Janatha Paksha) were among those who were sworn in along with industrialist-producer Ashok Kheny, who is the owner of Nandi Infrastructure Corridor Enterprises.

Governor H R Bhardwaj is slated to deliver his address to the joint session on June three. The legislative council will sit from June four to seven.

Meanwhile, counting of votes in Periyapatna assembly segment, which went to polls yesterday after being postponed following the death of BJP candidate Sannamoge Gowda on April 29, will be taken up on May 31.

Write A Comment