Activist to sue Union ministers Khan and Kharge

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


MANGALORE: Anti-corruption activist TJ Abraham is preparing to move the Lokayukta Court against 18 persons including Union ministers R Rehman Khan, Mallikarjun Kharge, MLAs Qamrul Islam, R Roshan Baig, NA Harris and Tanveer Sait in connection with the allegations of Rs two lakh crore Wakf property scam in the state.


Abraham has already sought sanction for investigation from Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to commence legal battle against Union minister of Minority Affairs Khan and Union minister of labour and employment Kharge. He also has sought sanction for investigation from the state Assembly speaker KG Bopaiah to launch fight against four MLAs.

“I intend to file separate complaints in the Court of the Special Judge, Lokayukta Court for trial of offences under the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 alleging massive illegality and corruption by two Union ministers and four MLAs,” Abraham told TOI.

Releasing a list, Abraham said that the total estimate of Karnataka Wakf properties scam is around Rs two lakh crore. “Reserve Bank of India has indicted Rehman Khan and others including his sons, daughters, son-in-law, brothers, wife and relatives of embezzlement to the tune of around 300 crores. While Mallikarjun Kharge is involved in the misuse and misappropriation of land that belong to Hazrat Khaja Bande Nawaz in Gulbarga, Qamarul Islam, MLA from Gulbarga North constituency, too is involved in land scams and fund misappropriations related to Wakf properties. Similarly, MLAs Tanveer Sait, Roshan Baig and NA Harris too are involved in scams,” he alleged adding that legal battle will be commenced soon after sanctions from the state Assembly speaker and from the Prime Minister.

“Offices of the Prime Minister and Assembly speaker are under an obligation to decide upon my request for sanction for investigation within a time frame of three months. Failing which, it may amount to contempt of Supreme Court,” Abraham said.

Write A Comment