5th Global Konkani Music Awarding ceremony

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Mangalore, Dec 9: The 5th Global Konkani Music Awards instituted by Mandd Sobhann were presented at a glittering ceremony held at Kalaangann, Shaktinagar here on Sunday December 8.


The Music Awards were conferred in six categories and there were three nominees in each category. Chief Guest JR Lobo, MLA of Mangalore South presented the Awards.  The Mandd Sobhann Global Konkani Music Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Fr Walter Albuquerque, a well known musician and Jesuit Priest popularly known as ‘Dhovi Kogul.’  It was a nostalgic moment for the great musician as the day also happened to be his 90th birthday.


The Global Konkani Music Awardees are : Anita D’Souza(Best Female Singer), Lawry Travasso of Goa(Best Male Singer), Sidhanath Buyao  of  Mumbai(Best Music Composer), Wilson Sequeira Kateel(Best Lyricist), Roshan D’Souza Angelore (Best Music Arranger), Ajith Peter D’Souza ( the Best Music Album award for his album ’Tujye Vengent’).

The awards were presented by Mangalore Konkans Dubai president James Mendonca and Zee TV DID Supermoms finalist Cecille Rodrigues of Goa.


On the occasion, Cecille Rodrigues was honoured with the title of ‘Dancing Queen of Konkani’ by J R Lobo.

J R Lobo congratulated the winners of the awards and said, “You have travelled so much in life to reach this stage, but there is still a lot to learn. You are true inspiration for others.” He urged Mangalore Konkani speaking community to give more importance to their mother tongue.


President of Mandd Sobhann Louis Pinto, Irene Rebello, Secretary, Eric Ozario, Gurkar of Mandd Sobhann and Erric Correa, noted philanthropist and businessman were among others present on the occasion.

Lavita Lobo and Titus Noronha compered the event.

Write A Comment