New Mangalore Port Announces Annual Awards Night to Felicitate Port Users for Excellence in Port Operations during 2022-23

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Mangalore, May 29, 2023 — The New Mangalore Port Authority organized “Annual Awards Nite” for honoring and recognizing the exemplary achievements of the Port users during the year 2022-23. The prestigious event took place In May 29, 2023, at 06:00 PM at Hotel Taj Vivanta, Mangalore.

Shri Shripad Yesso Naik Hon’ble Minister of State for Ports Shipping & Waterways and Tourism, was the Chief Guest of the event. Other dignitaries on the stage were Shri Ravikumar M.R., IAS, Dy. Commissioner, Dakshina Kannada Dist., Dr. A. V. Ramana, Chairman, NMPA Shri R. Murugaraj, IRTS Chief Freight Transportation Manager, Southern Railways, Shri Imamuddin Ahmad, Commissioner Customs Mangalore, & Shri K. G. Nath, Dy. Chairman, NMPA. The Annual Awards Nite was inaugurated by lighting the lamp by all the dignitaries.

During his welcome address Chairman NMPA hailed the contribution of Stakeholders extends sincere appreciation to all Port Users for their continuous support, dedication, and contributions towards achieving operational excellence.

Hon’ble Minister in his address congratulated the entire team of exporters and importers, patrons, port officers, staff unions, PPP Operators, stevedores, and shipping agents whose combined effort resulted in the achievement of 41.42MMT of cargo traffic. And said that Annual Awards Night is a testament to the collaborative spirit and collective efforts in advancing the growth of New Mangalore Port and the maritime industry as a whole.

Shri Shripad Yesso Naik Hon’ble Minister of State for Ports Shipping & Waterways and Tourism along with other dignitaries gave away the awards to the stake holders under various category such as; Best performance in Cargo handling, stevedoring, steamer agents, NLP platform users, support service providers, Cruise & hospitality service providers etc.

During the financial year 2022-23, The Port had reported one of the best performances of achieving cargo traffic of 41.42 MMT at 5.4% growth in comparison with 2021-22. Among which the Port had handled 1.65 lakhs TEU at 8.55% growth in 2022-23 against the 1.50 lakhs TEU in the year 2021-22. The Port successfully reduced its ship TRT (turnaround time) to 43.29 HRS in 2022-23 against the 45.95 HRS in 2021-22. There was an incremental growth at rate 12.29% in average output per berth per day i.e. 18,489 tonnes cargo handled per day, where in the year 2021-22 saw average output of 16,465 tonnes per day per berth with an incremental operating ratio of 38.44 which is at par with the private ports in the country.

The Annual Awards Night serves as a platform to acknowledge and celebrate the remarkable achievements and contributions made by the Port Users towards the success and efficient functioning of New Mangalore Port. As a pivotal trade hub and a catalyst for regional economic growth, New Mangalore Port recognizes the vital role played by its stakeholders and partners in maintaining operational excellence.

Comments are closed.