M’lore Varsity to confer Doctorate on Kadri Gopalnath, A B Subbaiah and Dr Kambhara

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Mangalore : Prof. T C Shivashankara Murthy, Vice-Chancellor, Mangalore University said that Mangalore University will confer honorary doctorates on three achievers on the 31st Convocation of the university on February 23, Saturday.


Speaking at the press meet held at University College, he said that university had received 15-16 names for the honour, out of which 3 names of dignitaries including veteran saxophone artiste Dr. Kadri Gopalnath, hockey player A B Subbaiah and Dr. Chandrashekhara Kambhara have been shortlisted.

VC also said that he will the University will also confer award on 84 Doctor of Philosophy degree holders including 15 from Arts, 59 from Science, 8 from Commerce and 2 from Education – 2. It will also honour 7 Master of Philosophy degree holders including 6 from science and 1 from Commerce.

He also said that convocation will give 36 gold medals and 55 cash prizes. Out of total 60 ranks, 44 from PG, UG- 16, Arts -12, Science and Technology – 30, Commerce – 10, Law – 1, Education – 4 and PG Diploma -3.

A total of 30,384 candidates appeared for the examinations out of which 18,969 (62.43%) have been passed. In PG courses, 3,391 (88.88%) have passed out of 3,815, In the UG level 15,469 (58.47%) students have passed out of 26,455, In PG Diploma, 18 (78.26%) of them have passed out of 23 who appeared for the examinations.

Speaking on MCMS courses, he said thatUniversity has approved to give degree to the students of Master of Communication and Media Studies (MCMS) courses of earlier batches and send the  convocation certificates to their respective colleges.

About the Awardees

Dr Chandrashekar Kambara

Prominent playwright and poet Dr Chandrashekar Kambara was born in Belgaum in 1937. He obtained doctorate degree from Karnataka University and later continued his studies at Chicago University. He served as a professor for 20 years in Bangalore University and was also the vice-chancellor of Hampi Kannada University. He was awarded the Jnanpith in 2011.
Dr Kadri Gopalnath

He was born in 1949 in Mangalore and is among the prominent saxophonists in the country. He was conferred the Padmashree in 2004, honorary doctorate from Bangalore University in 2004, Karnataka Rajyotsava Award in 1998, and has also received Tamil Nadu’s coveted ‘Kalaimaamani’ award.

Dr Gopalnath is also the recipient of  several titles like ‘Saxophone Samrat’, ‘Gaanakalashree’, ‘Naada Kalaanidi’, and ‘Sangeetha Vadya Ratna’.
A B Subayya

Senior hockey player A B Subayya was born in Madikeri. He was conferred the Arjuna Award in 1997 and Ekalavya award in 2003. He has played around 285 international hockey matches between 1988 to 1998 as part of the Indian hockey team.

He is a Software Engineer from Moodbidri currently living in Kuwait. He likes to travel and post interesting things about technology. He is the designer of Kannadigaworld.com. You may follow him on FB at fb.com/alanpaladka

Write A Comment