MLC elections: BJP candidate Kota Srinivas Poojary and Congress candidate Pratapchandra Shetty won.

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Mangaluru, December 30: BJP candidate from Dakshina Kannada constituency Kota Srinivas Poojary and Congress candidate Pratapchandra Shetty have emerged as winners in the MLC election for the two seats from the constituency.

Mlc_elction_vijotsva_1 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_2 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_3 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_4 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_5 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_6 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_7 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_8 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_9 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_10 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_11 Mlc_elction_vijotsva_12

BJP candidate Kota Srinivas Poojary secured 2,977 first priority votes, and Congress candidate Pratapchandra Shetty got 2,237 first priority votes. Independent candidate J P Hegde secured 872 first priority votes and independent candidate Harikrishna Bantwal got 127 first priority votes.

Since the BJP and Congress candidates got votes more than the required quota of votes, they were declared as winners without any more rounds of counting.

Details of candidates in fray:

K Pratapcahndra Shetty from Congress, Kota Shrinivas Shetty from BJP, S.Prakash Shetty from JDS, Praveencahndra Jain, as independent candidates- K. Jayaprakash Hegde, Harikrishna Bantwal, Alphonse Franco, and Ismail Doddamane were in the fray.

Jayaprakash Hegde and Harikrishna Bantwal was the rebel candidates of congress, while Alphonse Franko-SDPI supported candidate were in the fray.

Write A Comment