Karnataka Beary Sahitya Academy-2014 award list and honorary awards announced.

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Mangaluru, December 16:  B A Mohammed Haneef, President of Karnataka Beary Sahitya Academy, has announced the Karnataka Beary Sahitya Academy-2014 award list and honorary awards in a press meet.

Honorary awards for the year 2014 will be conferred to Prof B M Ichlangod for his research works in Beary language, B A Shamshuddin, Madikeri, for his achievements in the field of Beary literature and Mohammed Beary Yedapadavu for his achievements in the field of art and education. The award will comprise of cash Rs 10,000, memento, award and certificate.


Mariam Ismail, Ismail Azad Moodigere, Prof A M Sridharan and Ummer Farooq Bikkodu have been chosen for honours under literature. K Mohammed Mandagadde (country defence), Moidin Kunhi Gardadi (health), Azala Ayub(social service), B H Noor Mohammed (social service) and Mohammed Iqbal Katipalla (music) are the other persons who will receive awards in different categories, he added.

The awarding ceremony will be organized at Vokkaligara Sabhabhavan in Chikmagalur, on January 10th, 2015; in association with Chikmagalur District Beary Union. The Sammelan will be held at 10 am and the presentation ceremony will begin at 3 pm.


State ministers, MLA’s and elected representatives of local organizations, writers, artists, and along with Beary associations, 5,000 Bearys from various districts are expected to participate in this awarding function. In the conference, debates on Beary language, literature, culture, education, and problems faced by Beary’s and Beary cultural programs are organized during the ceremony, he said.

Registrar Umarabba, members such as Abbas kirugunda, Iddinabba Beary, M E Muhammad Firdaus Abdul Hamid Goltamajalu, Yusuf Vakthar, and T A Aliyabba Jokatte were present in the press conference.

Write A Comment