Konkani Academy to honour Paul Moras, Shankar Bhat

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


 MANGALORE: The Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy has chosen researcher in Konkani Paul Moras from Mangalore, bhavageethe expert Krishna Bhavani Shankar Bhat from Honnavar and folk artistes Argodu K Govindaraya Shenoy from Kundapur for its honorary awards for 2012.

While Paul has been selected for his service to language and literature, Bhat, known by his pen name Krishna Sharma, has been recognized for his contribution to Konkani art.

The academy has recognized the services of Govindaraya Shenoy to Konkani folk art. The awards will be presented at a function to be held at Dr Rajendra Prasad Auditorium of Gibbs High School, Kumta in Uttara Kannada district on May 25. K R Ramakrishna, commissioner, Directorate of Kannada and Culture, will present Rs 10,000, fruits, shawl and a memento to the winners of honorary awards.

Kasargod Chinna, president of the academy, told reporters on Saturday that Pius Fidelis Pinto’s research work ‘Karaval Karnatakanthlya Konkani Catholikancho Ithihas’ has been selected for Konkani book award under article/research category. Upcoming short story writer Tara Laveena Fernandes’ ‘Daskath Aani Hare Katha’ has been selected for the book award under the Konkani short stories category.

Mumbai-based Aruna Rao’s collection of Konkani poems has been selected for the book awards under the poetry category, he said.

Uttara Kannada MP Ananth Kumar Hegde will present these awards. The recipients of the book awards will receive a cash award of Rs 5,000, shawl and a memento, he said, adding that an independent selection committee perused through dozen entries in all three categories before making their choice.

Continuing with the tradition started last year, the academy has decided to felicitate four achievers with Yuva Puraskar award. They include Ankush Nayak for his achievement in music, Viani Antonio D’Cunha in chess, Ramakrishna Nayak V in arts and Srinarayan Bhagwan Raykar, a visually challenged student who scored 84% marks in SSLC examination. Muralidhar Prabhu, honorary president of the awards ceremony, will present these awards.

Write A Comment