I owe TOIFA award to Aishwarya Rai, says Abhishek Bachchan. Priyanka Chopra, Ranbir Kapoor Win Best Actor Awards; ‘Barfi!’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Abhishek Bachchan won an award for playing a comic role in ‘Bol Bachchan’ at the inaugural edition of the Times of India Film Awards (TOIFA) 2013 in Canada.

The awards extravaganza, which continued non-stop over the weekend, concluded on Sunday night with a big bang.

The entire Bollywood fraternity had landed in Canada for the awards weekend that was organised by Indian publishing conglomerate, The Times of India.


Abhishek Bachchan, who also performed at the awards function, thanked his wife profusely and humbly. He dedicated the award to his actress wife and the mother of his daughter Aaradhya.

He was quoted by The Times of India as saying: “I would like to thank my family for firstly having me because things wouldn’t have worked without that. I really owe this to Aishwarya and the love and support she has given me. She makes me the person that I am,” the actor said.

He also thanked his co-star, Ajay Devgn and the film’s director Rohit Shetty for ‘having faith’ in him.

He also promised the exuberant crowd that next time he would not only bring Aishwarya to perform in Canada, but also ‘bring dad’ Amitabh Bachchan to shake a leg.





Priyanka Chopra, Ranbir Kapoor Win Best Actor Awards; ‘Barfi!’ 

Best Actor Male – Ranbir Kapoor

Best Actor Female – Priyanka Chopra for “Barfi!”

Best Director – Anurag Basu for “Barfi!”

Best Film – “Barfi!”

Best Debut Male – Ayushman Khurrana for “Vicky Donor”

Best Debut Female – Ileana D’Cruz for “Barfi!”

Best Actor Supporting Role Male – Annu Kapoor for “Vicky Donor”

Best Actor Supporting Role Female – Dolly Ahluwalia for “Vicky Donor”

Best Actor in Negative Role – Rishi Kapoor for “Agneepath”

Best Music Director – Ajay-Atul for “Agneepath”

Best Playback Female Singer – Shalmali Kholgade for “Pareshaan” in “Ishaqzaade”

Best Playback Male Singer -Sonu Nigam for “Abhi mujh mein Kahi” in “Agneepath”

Best Actor in Comic Role – Abhishek Bachchan for “Bol Bachchan”

Best Lyrics – Gulzar for “Saans” in “Jab Tak Hai Jaan”

Critic’s Award for Best Debut Director – Gauri Shinde for English Vinglish

Critic’s Award for Best Movie – Gangs Of Wasseypur

Critic’s Award for Best Actor Male – Irrfan Khan for Paan Singh Tomar

Critic’s Award for Best Actor Female – Deepika Padukone for Cocktail

Best Editing – Namrata Rao for “Kahaani”

Best Cinematography – S Ravi Varman for “Barfi!”

Best Choreography – Ganesh Acharya for “Chikni Chameli” in “Agneepath”

Best Special Effects – Kvsanjit, Rajiv Ghosh for “Raaz 3”

Best Costume Design – Aki Narula, Shafalina for “Barfi!”

Best Art Direction – Rajat Podar for “Barfi!”

Best Action – Conrad Palmisano, Markos for “Ek Tha Tiger”

Best Background Score – Pritam for “Barfi!”

Best Sound Recording – Anita Khushwaha for “Talaash”

Best Story – Advaita Kala, Sujoy Ghosh for “Kahaani”

Best Screenplay – Sujoy Ghosh for “Kahaani”

Best Dialogue – Anurag Kashyap, Akhilesh Jaiswal, Zeishan Quadri, Sachin Ladia for “Gangs of Wasseypur I”

Write A Comment