Online appointments for land registration on the cards

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

srinivasa prasad

Bangalore: Easing citizens’ woes in registering land deals in the State, the revenue department plans to introduce online system of pre-registration appointment schedule (PRAS).

Drawn on the lines of passport booking system, PRAS will enable citizens to fill their registration details online before heading for the sub-registrar’s office for finalising the document.

Information such as land details, nature of transaction and parties entering into the deal could be furnished on the system. Once the information is uploaded, citizens can walk in to the sub-registrar’s office at the designated time and date, convenient to the citizens.

“However, there will be limited appointments which we may be able accommodate in a day,” Regional Commissioner Gaurav Gupta said. The department is trying to cut down the waiting period at sub-registrar offices, and bring transparency in registering land deals.

Once the land deal information is uploaded, the revenue department will verify the land records from their Bhoomi software. On the designated day and time, citizens can walk-in for verification process at sub-registrar’s office. It is expected that the system will reduce the burden on sub-registrars and people can quickly finish their transactions. In Bangalore, citizens can select the sub-registrar’s office, the time and date to register their land deals.

Kaveri software

According to Gupta, the system will be part of the upgrading of Kaveri software which presently registers land deals in the State.

Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC) has been contracted to instal Kaveri II software along with PRAS system. The department is expecting PRAS system to be in place over the next four to six months.

The government has embarked upon re-survey of both private and government land in the State. As part of the pilot project, five districts of Ramanagara, Kolar, Chikkaballapur, Tumkur and Belgaum have been taken up.

Revenue Minister Sreenivas Prasad said the government will extend the re-survey to all 30 districts in the next three years. The re-survey project will be taken up at a cost of Rs 600 crore, with a 50 per cent share from the Centre.

Write A Comment