Cong leaders lobby for MLC, RS tickets

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


BANGALORE: The morale in the Congress, post the Lok Sabha results, may be low. But that has not prevented senior and second-line leaders from lobbying for tickets to become MLCs and Rajya Sabha members.

While some were busy lobbying with Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and State Congress chief G Parameshwara, a few others had approached AICC general secretary Digvijay Singh, in charge of party affairs in Karnataka, when he was in Bangalore recently.
The State leaders, who have a say in the selection of candidates, are yet to begin the exercise.

The Congress has 121 members in the Assembly (excluding the Speaker). The effective strength of the House for the elections is likely to be 221 as three sitting MLAs – B S Yeddurappa, B Sriramulu (both BJP) and Prakash Hukkeri (Congress) – have been elected to the Lok Sabha in the recently held elections.

Over the next 45 days, elections will be held for four Rajya Sabha seats, seven MLC seats from the Legislative Assembly, two graduate and two teachers constituencies, besides the nomination of five persons to the Council. There is no timeframe for making nominations.

The elections to the Council from the Assembly will be held on June 19 along with the Rajya Sabha biennial elections. Votes will be counted on the same day.

Going by the present strength of the Assembly, the Congress can win two Rajya Sabha seats on its own. If it manages to get the support of the members from other parties and the independents, then it can win one more seat. For winning an RS seat, a minimum of 45 MLA votes are required.

The names of S M Krishna and B K Hariprasad are making the rounds in the Congress for the RS elections.

While the BJP can win one seat on its own strength, it is to be seen whether the JD(S) will field its candidate or support a nominee from any of the other parties.

Council polls

The competition is, however, more stiff for the Legislative Council than the RS elections. The Congress has decided not to field those who had lost the Assembly elections in 2013.

It will also not renominate those who are retiring. The demand from the party stalwarts is extremely long. The names of Bose Raj, V R Sudarshan, H M Revanna, Rani Satish are making the rounds for tickets.

As for nominations, Abdul Jabbar, who was recently nominated for 42 days, is likely to be renominated. In addition, three politicians and a film personality or a writer may be nominated. Parameshwara and J Alexander are probable candidates.

The party is yet to apply its mind on selecting the candidates for the graduates/teachers’ constituencies. The last date for nominations is June 3.

Vacancies, elections

-4 RS members to retire in June: S M Krishna, B K Hariprasad, Prabhakar Kore and Rama Jois. Polling and counting of votes are on June 19.

-7 MLCs elected from the Assembly to retire/vacate in June: D V Sadananda Gowda, Bharati Shetty, K V Narayanaswamy, M C Nanaiah, M V Rajasekharan, Siddaraju and Monappa Bhandary.

Polling and counting of votes are on June 19.

– MLCs elected from teachers/graduates constituencies to retire: A H Shivayogi Swamy, Mohan Limbikai and Sushil Namoshi (both vacant due to resignation) and Puttanna.
Polling is on June 20 and counting on June 24. (The model code of conduct is in force in the districts within which the constituencies lie.)

-5 nominated MLCs to retire: S R Leela, Doddarange Gowda, M R Doreswamy, B B Shivappa and Abdul Jabbar

Write A Comment