9 contentious seats haunts Congress..

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr
New Delhi, April 15, 2013, dhns:

 Congress is likely to announce its candidates for the remaining nine constituencies in a day or two after holding discussions with different groups to prevent defection by disgruntled ticket seekers.

Though the second list containing 40 candidates, including some modification to the first list, was announced on Sunday, the list of contestants for the remaining nine seats will be released at the last moment, sources in the party told Deccan Herald. The last date for filing nominations is April 17.

The nine constituencies are Rajarajeshwarinagar and Hebbal in Bangalore, Belgaum South, Davangere North, Bhadravati, Kaup, Chikkaballapur, Malur and Puttur.

In Rajarajeshwari Nagar, corporator Muniratna Naidu, P N Krishnamurthy and Hanumatharayappa are lobbying for the ticket. In Hebbal, Congress leader C K Jaffer Sharief’s grandson Rehman Sharief and former Minister H M Revanna are the contenders.

In Bhadravathi, former Union Minister C M Ibrahim is trying for the ticket, while the sitting MLA B K Sangameshwar wants to seek re-election as the Congress candidate. In Kapu, former minister Vasanth Salian and G Suresh Shetty are trying hard for the ticket, while in Puttur, Shankuntala Shetty and Vinay Kumar Sorake are the aspirants.

In Davangere North, Congress veteran Shamanur Shivashankarappa’s son and former minister S S Mallikarjuna wants to enter the fray. But, local Muslim leaders are seeking the ticket for someone from their community.

In Chikkaballapur, five aspirants, including Dr K Sudhakar, are trying for the ticket, while in Malur, four including Krishna Singh, son-in-law of former chief minister N Dharam Singh, have sought the ticket.

He is a Software Engineer from Moodbidri currently living in Kuwait. He likes to travel and post interesting things about technology. He is the designer of Kannadigaworld.com. You may follow him on FB at fb.com/alanpaladka

Write A Comment