15 women’s PU colleges sanctioned

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Meena Chandavarkar

Bijapur, September 11:  Karnataka State Women’s University vice-chancellor Meena Chandavarkar told presspersons here on Tuesday that the government has sanctioned 15 women’s pre-university colleges in 13 districts and these colleges will be affiliated to the university.

Expressing happiness over the increase in student strength in many departments, she said that over 100 students have taken admission in M.Sc in Physics, Chemistry and Journalism. “This year, the journalism department has registered 26 admissions unlike in the past when the number did not exceed 10,” she said.

She said that owing to the increasing number of students, the university was finding it hard to provide rooms to students in hostels. The university has made temporary arrangements for students at Anjuman College hostels and hostels built by the government for minorities.

She said that the university would be setting up an academy for competitive coaching for providing coaching to students to prepare for UPSC and KPSC examinations.

“Our objective is to see that at least one student from our university becomes an IAS or an IPS officer,” Prof. Chandavarkar said.

She said that the National Law University of India, Bangalore, has agreed to set up a centre for multidisciplinary research for taking up activities in food security, child rights and women empowerment.

Prof. Chandavarkar said that this academic year’s Inter-college Youth Festival would be held at Allama Sumangala Girls’ PU College, Bellary between September 27 and 29.

Write A Comment