Poor show by JD(S) in its strongholds

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

jds-logoBangalore, Augsut 25:The Assembly constituency-wise break-up of votes in the recently held by-polls to Bangalore (Rural) and Mandya Lok Sabha seats has revealed that the JD(S) could not get a majority in seven of the eight constituencies where it has sitting MLAs.

The two Lok Sabha constituencies which went to the by-polls have eight Assembly segments each. Of the eight Assembly constituency in Bangalore (Rural) Lok Sabha segment, JD(S) won three in the May 5 Assembly polls. In just around four months, it has lost in terms of vote share in Kunigal and Magadi to the Congress.

The Congress’ D K Suresh has won more votes in these two Assembly constituencies. Only in Ramanagara Assembly segment (represented by Kumaraswamy in the Assembly) JD(S) candidate Anita Kumaraswamy got more votes than her Congress rival.

In Mandya, it has lost out in five Assembly constituencies where it has sitting MLAs to the Congress. These include Maddur (sitting MLA D C Thammanna), Srirangapatna (Ramesh Bandisidde Gowda), Nagamangala (N Chaluvarayaswamy), K R Pet (Narayana Gowda) and Krishnarajnagar (Sa Ra Mahesh).

Bangalore Rural constituency:

Winner  :  D K Suresh (Congress)
Loser       :  Anitha Kumaraswamy (JD-S)
Constituency    Congress    JD(S)
Kunigal    56,340    51,442
Rajarajeshwarinagar    56,426    51,146
Bangalore South    78,994    54,681
Anekal    78,738    41,517
Magadi    72,443    68,187
Ramanagara    62,070    65,849
Kanakapura    1,00,703    48,851
Channapatna     72,894    59,927
Postal ballots    1     0
Total    4,41,601    5,78,608
(While JD(S) walked away with a vote share of 41.9 per cent,
Congress had a vote share of 54.94 per cent)

Mandya Constituency:

Winner      :    Ramya  (congress)
Loser    :    C S Puttaraju (Jd-S)
Assembly constituency    Congress    JD(S)
Malavalli     73,920    50,521
Maddur    61,058    50,538
Melkote     58,840    66,511
Mandya    60,182     46,101
Srirangapatna    60,908    52,134
Nagamangala    61,770    49,512
KR Pet    60,321     54,409
KR Nagar    47,084    46,747
Postal ballots    1     2
Total     4,16,474     4,84,085
(While JD(S) walked away with a vote share of 44.1 per cent,
Congress recieved a share of 51.3 per cent)

Write A Comment