Two BJP Ministers quit in Karnataka, set to join Congress

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Bangalore: Ruling BJP suffered a fresh setback in poll-bound Karnataka with two more Ministers quitting the Jagadish Shettar cabinet today, amid indications that they would join the Congress.

Forest Minister C P Yogeeshwara and Small Scale Industries Minister Rajugouda alias Narasimha Nayak tendered their resignations to the Chief Minister today.
Earlier, they also met Governor H R Bhardwaj, terming it a “courtesy visit”.

The two said they would resign from the primary membership of the party and also submit their resignation from Assembly membership to Speaker K G Bopaiah.

The sources said Yogeeshwara and Rajugouda have been promised by central Congress leaders that they would be taken into the party fold.

The BJP has been reeling under a resignation spree ahead of elections to urban local bodies (excluding Bangalore) on March 7 and the assembly polls expected in May.

Public Works Minister C.M. Udasi and Energy Minister Shobha Karandlaje, loyalists of former Bharatiya Janata Party chief minister B S  Yeddyurappa, had quit last month along with 11 members MLAs who resigned from Assembly membership.

Sources claimed that several BJP MLAs, including some Ministers, have knocked at the doors of Congress, which is in the process of taking a call on their entry into the party.

He is a Software Engineer from Moodbidri currently living in Kuwait. He likes to travel and post interesting things about technology. He is the designer of Kannadigaworld.com. You may follow him on FB at fb.com/alanpaladka

Write A Comment