Upgrade sub station in Somwarpet: Vishwanath

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Somwarpet:, July 30: Members of various political parties have urged MP H Vishwanath to initiate measures to upgrade sub station to solve power crisis,  in Somwarpet taluk.

They said “no efforts have been made to upgrade the sub station. Two feeders have been damaged in the taluk. If the remaining feeders are damaged, then the entire taluk will face acute power crisis.”

Madikeri JD(S) committee President S B Bharat Kumar said several villages did not have electricity few days ago owing to faulty feeder.

The MP contacted Chescom Managing Director A B Ibrahim and directed him     to take measures to upgrade sub station in Somwarpet taluk.

Special package

Speaking after visiting the rain-affected areas, the MP said that a proposal will be sent to the Central government seeking to release special package of Rs 200 crore to take up relief work in rain-affected areas in the district.

The district has incurred loss in the heavy rain that lashed across the district for the last few days.

The officials have been directed to take up relief work immediately. Acres of farm land has been inundated in the district. Several roads have been damaged. A proposal will be submitted to the Central government seeking additional funds to take up relief work in the district.

He further said as coffee planters have incurred  loss, the Deputy Commissioner has been instructed to provide a compensation of Rs 7,000 per hectare of coffee planation.

MP Vishwanath also visited in Alekatte on Somwarpet – Shanthalli road where a mudslide was reported recently.

Flood-hit villages

The MP visited Nelyahudikeri and Karadigodu villages which were affected with flood in the recent rainfall and said that permanent solution will be worked out to shift those residing on the banks of river to safer areas.

Somwarpet Block Congress President K M Lokesh, Taluk Panchayat member H R Suresh, Town Panchayat member Sheela D’Souza, Zilla Panchayat former President K P Chandrakala, labour leaders Somappa, K T Paramesh, Kumuda Dharmappa and others were present.

Write A Comment