HDK, Cheluvarayaswamy and Anil Lad quit as MPs

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


New Delhi, May 22: JD(S) leaders H D Kumara­­­swamy and N Cheluvarayaswamy and Congress leader Anil Lad, who were recently elected to the State Assembly, on Tuesday, resigned their MP seats.

Anil Lad has resigned as member of the Rajya Sabha, following his election to the State Assembly from Bellary city constituency. He was elected to the Rajya Sabha on June 26, 2008 for a six-year tenure till June 25, 2014.

Kumaraswamy, MP from Bangalore Rural Lok Sabha constituency was elected from Ramnagara Assembly segment, while Cheluvarayaswamy Lok Sabha member from Mandya got elected from Nagamangala Assembly segment. With the two sitting members resignations, the strength of JD(S) in Parliament reduced to one. Former prime minister H D Deve Gowda is the lone MP now.

Meanwhile, Kumaraswamy has been unanimously elected the JD(S) floor leader in the Assembly. At present, by virtue of its higher vote share, JD(S) will be the principal opposition party in the Lower House. Hence, Kumaraswamy dons the role of Leader of Opposition. Both JD(S) and BJP bagged equal number of seats (40) in the May 5 Assembly polls.

Briefing reporters after the legislature party meeting, Kumaraswamy said his party would provide a six-month “honeymoon” period to the new government, to settle down and work for the development of the State.

“If they lose their way, we will question them. We will work as a constructive opposition in the Assembly,” he said.

On Periyapatna election, he said it was a ‘test by fire’ for JD(S) and they would strive for a win. He said he and other leaders will campaign in Periyapatna from May 22 to 26.
He criticised Chief Minister Siddaramaiah for declaring that the State would look to provide cheap and quality liquor for the poor.

“The government is not able to resolve the water crisis and provide it at cheaper rate. But, they are trying to promote cheap liquor,” he said.

Write A Comment