BJP goes seatless in Shimoga, D’gere

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

BSY lone KJP winner in his home turf as party loses in six constituencies

 The ruling BJP suffered a humiliating defeat in Shimoga district, considered its stronghold, without winning even a single seat.

B S Yeddyurappa’s KJP has met a similar fate. Apart from Shikaripur, it lost in the remaining six Assembly segments. The JD(S) has sprung a surprise by winning in Sorab, Shimoga Rural and Bhadravati out of seven seats. The Congress won three seats –– Shimoga Urban, Teerthahalli and Sagar. The KJP has succeeded in worsening BJP’s position by emerging runner-up in the five of the seven Assembly segments.  They are Shimoga, Sorab, Sagar, Teerthahalli and Shimoga Rural.

Among the prominent losers, Deputy Chief Minister and BJP candidate from Shimoga Urban K S Eshwarappa has slipped to third position. Congress candidate K B Prasanna Kumar emerged victorious beating KJP candidate S Rudre Gowda by 278 votes.

Former Union minister and Congress candidate C M Ibrahim, who obtained the ticket sidelining sitting MLA B K Sangameshwar, slipped to third position in Bhadravati. The winner, M J Appaji of the JD(S) beat Sangameswhwar by a huge difference of 44,099 votes.

Former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa has scored his seventh win from Shikaripur, this time as KJP candidate, defeating Congress candidate H S Shanthaveerappa Gouda by a margin of 24, 425 votes.

In Sorab, JDS State Youth Wing president Madhu Bangarappa  emerged victorious defeating his brother and Congress candidate Kumar Bangarappa and KJP candidate H Halappa.

In Teerthahalli, Congress candidate and sitting MLA Kimmane Ratnakar secured his second consecutive victory from Teerthahalli Assembly segment by 37,160 votes. He secured 1, 343 votes more than KJP’s R M Manjunath Gowda. Former MLA of the BJP Araga Jnanendra was third with 34,446 votes.

In Sagar, senior Congress leader and former minister Kagodu Thimmappa emerged victorious by defeating KJP candidate B R Jayanth by a margin of 41,248 votes. The sitting MLA and JD(S) candidate Belur Gopalkrishna came third. Congress -71,960 votes, KJP – 30,712 votes and  JD(S) – 23,217 votes.

In Shimoga Rural, voters elected a woman candidate in Sharada Pooryanaik of the JD(S). She defeated KJP’s G Basavanyappa by a margin of 10,109 votes. Sitting MLA of the BJP K G Kumaraswamy came fourth after Congress candidate Kariyappa. JDS – 48,639 votes,   KJP-38,530, Congress- 35,640 and BJP-12,435.


In Davangere, the Congress has emerged victorious in seven of the eight constituencies in the district. The BJP and the KJP have failed to win even a single seat. Surprisingly, JD(S) has bagged Harihar seat.

Former minister and Congress candidate from Davangere North S S Mallikarjun defeated his nearest rival BJP candidate S A Raveendranath by a huge margin of 56,862 votes.   Senior Congress leader Shamanur Shivashankarappa, defeated JDS candidate Syed Saifulla in Davangere South by a margin of 40,158 votes.

Former minister and KJP candidate from Honnali Renukacharya was defeated by Congress candidate D G Shanthanagowda by 18,378 votes. The Congress candidates won in the remaining four Assembly segments –– Jagalur, Harapanahalli, Mayakonda and Channagiri.


The Congress has emerged victorious in four of the six Assembly segments in the district. BJP and BSR Congress Party have bagged one seat each. BJP candidate from Chitradurga Assembly segment G H Thippareddy defeated the sitting MLA S K Basavarajan.

Former ministers Goolihatti Shekhar and A Krishnappa were defeated in Hosadurga and Hiriyur respectively. Sitting MLAs N Y Gopalkrishna and Chandrappa were beaten  in Molakalmur and Holalkere respectively.

S Thippeswamy of the BSR Congress won from Molakalmur defeating the sitting MLA, N Y Gopalakrishna.

(S K Nrupathunga and Ramesh Kebbehundi)

He is a Software Engineer from Moodbidri currently living in Kuwait. He likes to travel and post interesting things about technology. He is the designer of Kannadigaworld.com. You may follow him on FB at fb.com/alanpaladka

Write A Comment