MLA attacked in Belgaum

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


 (Abhay Patil, MLA, showing his torn shirt after he was allegedly attacked at a polling station in Shahpur on Sunday.)

Belgaum, May 6, 2013

Two-time Bharatiya Janata Party MLA and the party’s candidate from the Belgaum South Assembly Constituency, Abhay Patil, was allegedly attacked by his rival Sambhaji Patil and his supporters near a polling station in Shahpur on Sunday.

Mr. Sambhaji, a four-time mayor of Belgaum, is contesting as an Independent candidate with the support of the Maharashtra Ekikaran Samiti.

Mr. Abhay informed Deputy Commissioner Mounish Moudgil about the incident and sought action against the culprits.

Reliable sources said that the trouble started when Mr. Sambhaji’s supporters advised a woman supporter of Mr. Abhay not to canvass votes within 100 metres radius of the polling station.

Soon, Mr. Abhay rushed to the polling station. By that time Mr. Sambhaji too arrived there. As the candidates picked up an argument, Mr. Sambhaji allegedly lost his cool and slapped Mr. Abhay. His supporters also pounced upon Mr. Abhay and tore his shirt.

Another MLA attacked

Prabhu Chauhan, MLA and BJP nominee, was allegedly attacked by supporters of Gurupadappa Nagamarapalli, the former Minister and Karnataka Janata Paksha leader, in Nagamarapalli village in Aurad taluk in Bidar district. At least four persons suffered serious injuries. Mr. Chauhan also suffered some injuries.

A group of people began arguing with Mr. Chauhan just as he entered the village at around 3 p.m and asked him to go back. Mr. Chauhan’s followers got into a heated discussion with them. The group began throwing stones at Mr. Chauhan’s vehicle, police said.

He is a Software Engineer from Moodbidri currently living in Kuwait. He likes to travel and post interesting things about technology. He is the designer of Kannadigaworld.com. You may follow him on FB at fb.com/alanpaladka

Write A Comment