Udupi: Increase Auto rickshaw metre running rate to Rs 16 by March 03 or face Rickshaw Bandh on March 04 across District-former MLA

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Udupi; Feb 27: Addressing the media personnel in the press meet held on Feb 26, Wednesday in Udupi private hotel’s auditorium, Raghupati Bhat, former legislator said in his speech that if the Auto rickshaw meter running rate is not increased to Rs 16 per kilo metre from Rs 15 before March 03, auto rickshaw drivers and owners association has decided to organize rickshaw bandh and massive protest on March 04 across the district.

Earlier, it was decided to organize bandh on March 03 and in this regard even enough advertisement, publicity, propaganda also is being done. But when Vokkoota met DC M.T.Reju, he verbally agreed to increase Rs 1 per kilo metre in auto rickshaw metre running rate. Besides he also told the delegation that clear decision will be taken after discussing with police superintendents and transport officer. Respecting his talk, bandh programme has been postponed to march 04 instead of March 03

Further he said DC by keeping aside his stubborn attitude, if the rate is increased by March 03, there won’t be bandh on March 04 and March 03 only DC will be congratulated, Raghupati Bhat clarified.

On Feb 22, the protest was held in front of DC office, submitting all the demands in the front. DC has promised vokkoota that decision will be taken in the RTA meeting. But thereafter, he postponed that meeting. Thereafter Karkala’s legislator V.Sunil Kumar, presented rickshaw driver’s problems and demands in the vidhana Mandal’s session. Then law minister T.B.Jayachandra assured them that suitable measure will be taken in this regard, he said.

Consumer’s Vedhike did not object for increasing running price.Public’s objection also not there. But public insisted for fixing metre.If the running rate is increased by one rupee, auto drivers will run the autos with metre,promised Raghupati Bhat on behalf of drivers.

Okkoota prominent leaders like Mahesh Takur, B.Sudhakar Shetty, Manikanta, Suresh, Shivananda Moodubettu, Sanjeeva Poojary and among others were present.

Write A Comment