Kannada Sahitya Sammelan on April 7th, Achievers to be feted

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Mangalore, April 4 :  Speaking to the media persons in the press meet held at City’s  Pathrika Bahavan Pradeep Kumar Kalkura-President D.K Kannada Sahitya Parishat has told that Mangalore Taluk Kannada Sahitya Sammelan will be held  at  the Vishnu Moorthy Temple Premises,Kulai on Sunday the 7th April,’13.

Senior litterateur Leelavathi S Rao will preside over the function and litterateur Na Damodar Shetty will inaugurate

A. Procession will be taken out from Venkataramana Higher Primary School, Kulai and Devananda Shetty-Chairman, Dixi Shipping Company would flag off it, he added.

On the occasion “Asha Nudi” and souvenir will be released by S.Pradeep Kumar Kalkura-President, D.K.Kannada Sahitya Parishat. Bola Chittaranjandas Shetty will speak on this occasion in his guest speech.

Nagendra Bharadwaj Katla will inaugurate the book exhibition and Kadambodi Mahabala Poojary will inaugurate the exhibition of various other items.

Chief guests like Prof.Swapan Bhattacharya-Director NITK, P.P.Upadhyaya-MD, and MRPL among other dignitaries would be participating in the function, he said.

Programmes like seminar,Kavi Samaya,interaction with  the conference President among others will be held.15 achievers from different fields, which includes  Patel Srinivas Rao (Social Service),Professor P.K.Moily (education and journalism),P.Sridhar Aithal (Yakshagana),Prathima Sridhar Holla (dance),Devanna Shetty,Kulai (agriculture) among others would be felicitated on the occasion, he said. Many cultural events have also been arranged as reported.

 While Nagaveni H Hampi will speak in her valedictory speech, Leelavathi S.Rao will deliver a presidential address. Chief Guest like Dr.P.Tamilvanan- NMPT and N.Vijchyananda-MD would also participate, he said.

Sadashiva Shetty-President, Welcome Committee of Sammelan, Krishna Hebbar-Trustee-Kulai Vishnumoorthy Temple, Vijayalaxmi Shetty-President, D.K, Kannada Sahitya Sammelan, Mahesh Moorthy-Secretary, Welcome committee and others among were present in the meet.

Photo Courtesy : Satish Kapikad


Write A Comment