An opportunity for the deprived through ‘Naadbhed’reality show on classical music

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Mangalore, June 29:Addressing the press meet held at press club on June 29,Saturday,Srihari,state secretary SPICMACAY said in his address that SPICMACAY will organize a national competition of classical music”Naadbhed’ in-coordination with Doordashan and the same would be aired across the country.

He further said that the SPICMACAY, a non-profit and non-political voluntary movement in collaboration with Doordarshan is contemplating to organize serious reality show on classical music to infuse an interest in classical music among youth and to motivate and reward the best practitioner amongst them, apart from giving a platform for the children, who have been deprived of an opportunity to participate in TV reality show telecast in channels that has attracted public.

SPICMACAY feels that a similar platform can be used for promoting and popularizing our classical arts. This show will help to popularize competition in classical music and in taking classical music into every house, he said.

 SPICMACAY and Doordarshan will produce the programme taking on board great masters of Indian Classical music as judges like Prof T N Krishnan, Pt Shivkumar Sharma, Begum Parveen Sultana, Vid T V

Shankaranarayanan, Pt Hariprasad Chaurasia, Ustad Amjad Ali Khan, Vidhushi Vedavalli, Vidwan RK Srikanthan.

The interested participants from across the state country can participate for the regional rounds of competition at Doordarshan’s 20 regional Kendras with quarter finals being conducted at Kolkata for Hindustani music contestants with judges from Sangeet Research Academy and at Chennai for Carnatic music contestants with judges from Madras Music Academy. The final round will be in Delhi. The aim with this initiative is to promote and popularize classical music all over the country. The show will be hosted by Shabhana Azmi.

The contestants can bag awards in six categories like Vidwan M S Subbalaxmi Yuvapuraskar for Carnatic Vocal, Vidwan Sheikh Chinna Maulana Yuvapuraskar for Carnatic Instrumental, Vid Phalghat Mani Aiyar Yuvapuraskar for Accompanist, Pt Bhimsen Joshi Yuvapuraskar for Hindustani Vocal, Pt Ravi Shankar Yuvapuraskar for Hindustani instrumental and Ustad Allah Rakha Yuvapuraskar for Hindustani accompanist.

In each category the winner will get Rs 3 lakhs as cash awards. One mega winner in each form, Hindustani and Carnatic music will win Rs One million each.

Mangalore Akashvani chief Dr Vasanth Kumar Perla, SPICMACAY state advisor Dr S G Mayya, Naadbhed programme organisor Vidya Harish were present

Write A Comment