Govt removes Indira, Rajiv Gandhi’s names from ‘Hindi Diwas’ awards

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


New Delhi: The Central government has recently renamed two awards irking the opposition Congress.

As per reports, the awards in question are – ‘Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Puraskar’ and ‘Rajiv Gandhi Rashtriya Gyan-Vigyan Maulik Pustak Lekhan Puraskar’. These will now be known as ‘Rajbhasha Kirti Puraskar’ and ‘Rajbhasha Gaurav Puraskar’, respectively.

The awards are given by the Ministry of Home Affairs each year on ‘Hindi Diwas’ for progressive use of the language in government.

As per a leading business daily, the Home Ministry issued an order to this effect on March 25 this year.

Following the removal of names of its two late senior leaders from the awards, the Congress hit back at the BJP-led government accusing it of “political vindictiveness”.

The government has, however, denied any political angle to the development, with MoS (Home Affairs) reportedly saying that the move to drop names was not a political one but an administrative move.

Write A Comment