Raghubar Das to be Jharkhand’s first non-tribal Chief Minister

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Ranchi: Raghubar Das on Friday was elected as BJP Legislature Party leader in Jharkhand, thus paving the way for him to be the next Chief Minister. Das, who won the Jamshedpur East seat with a huge margin of 70,000 votes, will be the first non-tribal CM of the state.

BJP observer J P Nadda said after the legislature party meeting that Das name was proposed by Sarayu Roy, another front-runner for the post and C P Singh and supported by all the party MLAs.

Raghubar Das is also a former deputy chief minister of the state. Former chief minister Arjun Munda said Das will stake claim to form the BJP-AJSU party government.

BJP got absolute majority in the recently concluded Assembly elections where it won 42 seats in the 81-member assembly. JMM got 17, Congress 8, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha won 6 seats respectively.

Raghuvar Das ji has been selected as the leader of legislative party in Jharkhand: JP Nadda

— ANI (@ANI_news) December 26, 2014
Raghubar Das thanked people of Jharkhand for showing confidence in him. “I assure you that I will work whole heartedly for the development of Jharkhand and fight against corruption.”

Write A Comment