Konandur Lingappa chosen for D. Devaraj Urs Award

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Konandur LingappaBangalore, August 19: Socialist leader and the former legislator Konandur Lingappa has been chosen for the D. Devaraj Urs Award for 2013.

Minister for Social Welfare H. Anjaneya told presspersons here on Sunday that a seven-member committee headed by writer Baraguru Ramachandrappa selected Mr. Lingappa for the award. The award comprises a purse of Rs. 2 lakh and a citation. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will present the award to Mr. Lingappa at a function to be organised on August 20 at Vidhana Soudha to mark the 98th birth anniversary of D. Devaraj Urs.

Konandur Lingappa (77) was educated at Konandur, Thirthahalli, Shimoga, Mysore and Bangalore. He was elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1972 from Thirthahalli constituency. Mr. Lingappa became member of the Legislative Council in 1983 when late Ramakrishna Hegde headed the first Janata Party government in the State. Mr. Lingappa took part in various social movements, including Uluvavane Holadodeya (tiller is owner of the land), launched by D. Devaraj Urs, and fought for the implementation of the Havanur Commission report on backward classes. He played a major role in the movement against emergency in 1975.

Expressing his happiness over having been chosen for the award, Mr. Lingappa recalled all those who groomed his political and social career. “I was close to renowned socialist leader Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia, he said.

“I, along with Kagodu Thimmappa and S. Bangarappa, worked closely with Shantaveri Gopala Gowda, who is an icon of social justice”, he said.

Recalling the contribution of Jnanpith award winner U.R. Ananthamurthy in his intellectual growth, Mr. Lingappa said, “It was Mr. Ananthamurthy who was instrumental in helping me continue my education. When I discontinued studies after matriculation, he forced me to join the intermediate college in Shimoga.”

Mr. Lingappa was instrumental in kindling the pride of Kannada by launching the Kannada Yuvajana Sabha along with Poornachandra Tejaswi, farmers’ leaders Kadidal Shamanna, N.D. Sundaresh and others.

Write A Comment