Modi wave sweeps Bangalore

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Bangalore:The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday continued to maintain its stranglehold on the Capital for the second time in 10 years, and also assist in ‘Modifiying’ the City.

While there was no doubt amidst the BJP supporters of a certain victory in all the three constituencies of Bangalore South, Bangalore Central and Bangalore North, it was a question of by how much the victory margin was to be.

The Modi wave, while having given an edge to the BJP, also meant that it will unify the mionority community.

This was certainley felt with the counting of votes in the Bangalore Central constituency, wherein Congress candidate Rizwan Arshad maintained a quite lead for no less than five to six rounds of counting.

However, as the number of votes from the minority dominant constituencies dwindled the Modi wave took precedence. In the end, BJP candidate, P C Mohan, took a comfortable stride into the Parliament with a one lakh plus margin. The counting still continues in the constituency.

The much hyped Bangalore South contest between BJP Ananth Kumar and Congress candidate Nandan Nilekani turned out to be a timid affair with the seasoned BJP candidate never letting down his guard. Kumar is winning by a comfortable margin of over one lakh votes.

In Bangalore North, the contest was never expected to last for more than a few rounds. And accordingly, former chief minister D V Sadananda Gowda won the constituency with a margin of whopping 2.29 lakh votes.

Write A Comment