Senior Congress leader Janardhan Poojary wins Congress Primaries election

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Senior Congress leader B Janardhan Poojary won the Congress primaries against Businessan U. Kanachur Monu with 478 votes held at  Rosario Cathedral grounds on March 9,Sunday.Out of 547 party members from every block and the Minority cell, who casted their vote for the primaries, Kanachur Monu managed to win only 60 votes, making a way for Poojary to contest for the Lok Sabha election as the Congress candidate from Mangalore Constituency.During the primaries election, All India Congress Committee allotted the ‘Aero-plane’ symbol for B. Janardhan Poojary and ‘Cricket bat’ symbol for U. Kanachur Monu. 

Mangalore,Mar 9, 2014: Congress leader and former union minister Janardhan Poojary won the Congress by garnering 478 out of the total 547 votes that were cast.

Poojari_Election_Pics_2 Poojari_Election_Pics_3

The candidate for the primary, U K Monu, could manage to win only 62 votes.

Poojari_Election_Pics_4 Poojari_Election_Pics_5

Around 547 members of party from every block and the Minority cell casted their vote for the aspirants of Lok Sabha elections at Rosario Cathedral grounds.

Poojari_Election_Pics_6 Poojari_Election_Pics_7

Kanachur Monu managed to win only 62 votes against Poojary. With this Poojary would be the Congress candidate from Mangalore Constituency constesting for Lok Sabha election.

Poojari_Election_Pics_10 Poojari_Election_Pics_11

All India Congress Committee allotted the ‘Aero-plane’ symbol for B. Janardhan Poojary and ‘Cricket bat’ symbol for U. Kanachur Monu.

Congress activists from D.K.district will create history

Poojari_Election_Pics_10 Poojari_Election_Pics_11 Poojari_Election_Pics_12

A group of 598 Congress activists from district will create history on Sunday, when they cast their vote to choose the party’s candidate for the Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha seat. No party has attempted internal elections so far in Karnataka to choose a party’s candidate for a public office.

Poojari_Election_Pics_13 Poojari_Election_Pics_14 Poojari_Election_Pics_15

The unprecedented internal elections – called the Primary, modelled on the US elections – will begin at 11 a.m. at Rosario Cathedral.

Poojari_Ellection_pic_1 Poojari_Ellection_pic_2 Poojari_Ellection_pic_7 Poojari_Ellection_pic_8 Poojari_Ellection_pic_9

Enthusiasm appears to be high among the party workers who have been enlisted as voters for the primary based on a set of 19 criteria.

“This is first time that workers are choosing the candidate. Whenever something happens for the first time, naturally, there will be enthusiasm,” said in-charge president of the District Congress Committee Ibrahim Kodijal. On the dot

Poojari_Ellection_pic_10 Poojari_Ellection_pic_11 Poojari_Ellection_pic_12 Poojari_Ellection_pic_13 Poojari_Ellection_pic_14



The party’s returning officer for the primary Preniel Nair told The Hindu that nobody will be allowed inside the enclosure after 11 a.m. He said in one of the primaries held already, even president of the party’s local unit was kept out for delayed arrival. He said even mediapersons would not be allowed after 11 a.m. The party’s media in-charge K.T. Sudhir said voters have been asked to reach the venue at 9.30 a.m. as observers were strict about closing gate at 11 a.m.

Poojari_Election_Pics_16 Poojari_Election_Pics_17 Poojari_Election_Pics_18 Poojari_Election_Pics_19 Poojari_Election_Pics_20

All India Congress Committee General Secretary in charge of Karnataka Shantaram Naik and AICC Secretary Prakash Joshi reached Mangalore on Saturday to supervise the primary election. They visited the venue of the primary. After the rejection of the nomination of Harsha Moily, son of Union Minister M. Veerappa Moily, only two candidates are left in the fray: senior Congressman B. Janardhana Poojary and U. Kanachur Monu. Both the candidates have toured the district to campaign for the primary.

Poojari_Ellection_pic_18 Poojari_Ellection_pic_19 Poojari_Ellection_pic_20 Poojari_Ellection_pic_22 Poojari_Ellection_pic_25

Mr. Nair said the candidates would get a chance to speak to the voters as soon as they meet at 11 a.m. He expected that the voting would commence at noon and counting would be taken up immediately after . Each candidate can make first and second preference for the candidates.

Write A Comment