Congress, Opposition both hopeful of victory in Mizoram

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Aizawl: Both the ruling Congress and the opposition alliance have said they were optimistic of forming the next government in Mizoram after Monday’s polling saw a huge turnout of around 82 per cent.

“We shall win in more seats this time compared to the last assembly elections in 2008 and our vote share certainly would increase significantly,” said Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla.

Lal Thanhawla, also the state Congress chief, is contesting from two constituencies – Serchhip, his home turf, and neighbouring Hrangturzo – both in central Mizoram.

“I am more than confident of Congress retaining power in the state,” Mr Thanhawla said after casting his vote.

“Congress will certainly retain power with a thumping majority by bagging the same number of seats it got last time (32) if not more as the government has done well for the development of the state and welfare of the people,” said the 71-year-old Congress leader.

“The people of Mizoram want Congress to be in power for its pro-people work and running a clean government,” he claimed.

Opposition coalition Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA), comprising Mizo National Front (MNF), Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) and Maraland Democratic Front (MDF), all regional and local parties, is also confident of forming government in Mizoram.

“People become disgusted by the misrule of Congress government. More over the votes would be divided in three major factions and it would electorally gain the MDA,” an MNF leader told reporters.

The Bharatiya Janata Party, which has a very little base in the state, Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) and the Nationalist Congress Party are also separately contesting the state elections, fielding candidates in many seats.

During the last assembly elections in December 2008, the Congress won 32 seats, the MNF three and the MDF one. The MPC and ZNP got two seats each.

The MNF, led by former chief minister Zoramthanga, which ruled the state for 10 years till 2008, is the principal opposition party.

Write A Comment