Electorate punish non-BJP, Congress candidates pay for their electoral foray!

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


MANGALORE: The one-sided election results in Dakshina Kannada that saw 71 candidates test their electoral fortunes has left 55 of them losing the deposit amount.

Only 16 candidates – eight each from the Congress and BJP- could get their deposit back.

Deposit is returned only if candidates manage to secure one sixth of the total vote polled in a constituency. In reserved constituencies, candidates must get one sixteenth of the total votes polled. While the deposit amount for general category candidates is Rs 10,000, it is Rs 5,000 for candidates from Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribes.

In Mangalore constituency, barring Congress candidate UT Khader and BJP candidate Chandrahas Ullal, all others lost their deposit. In Mangalore City North, Congress candidate BA Mohiuddin Bava and BJP candidate J Krishna Palemar got their deposit back.

Similarly, in Mangalore City South constituency, all candidates, other than Congress candidate JR Lobo and his BJP opponent N Yogish Bhat, lost their deposit.

In Belthangady constituency, Rajashri Hegde (JDS), Mahalingeshwar Bhat (CPM), Sukesh Kumar (KJP), Channakeshava (BSP) and Venkatesh Bende (JDU) lost their deposit.

Though JD(S) candidate Amarnath Shetty had bagged 20,471 in Moodbidri constituency, he failed to get his deposit back. Michael Lobo (KJP), Ismail B (SDPI) and Abhayakumar (independent) too have lost their deposit here.

He is a Software Engineer from Moodbidri currently living in Kuwait. He likes to travel and post interesting things about technology. He is the designer of Kannadigaworld.com. You may follow him on FB at fb.com/alanpaladka

Write A Comment